Maryam Mirzakhani has been awarded the 2013 AMS Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize. Presented every two years, the Satter Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to mathematics research by a woman in the preceding five years. Maryam is honored for "her deep contributions to the theory of moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces." The prize will be awarded on Thursday, January 10th at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego. Details can be found at

Persi Diaconis, along with his co-author Ron Graham, has won the MAA’s 2013 Euler Book Prize for the book "Magical Mathematics: the Mathematical Ideas that Animate Great Magic Tricks." The Euler Book Prize is awarded to annually to an author or authors of an outstanding book about mathematics, and is intended to recognize well-written books with a positive impact on the public's view of mathematics. This prize will also be awarded on Thursday at the Joint Meetings.

Lexing Ying has been awarded SIAM's James Wilkinson Prize in scientific computing. This prize is awarded every four years for research in numerical analysis and scientific computing during the six years preceding the award. The purpose of the prize is to stimulate early career contributors and to help them in their careers. The prize selection committee recognized his contributions in "the design of fast and accurate numerical algorithms for fundamental problems in scientific computing." Their citation continues: "Combining ideas from approximation theory, probability, special functions theory, multiscale analysis and parallel computing, [you have] made outstanding contributions in many areas, including the
rapid evaluation of oscillatory integral transforms, high frequency wave propagation and the computation of electron structure in metallic systems." Lexing will receive his prize during the 2013 Annual SIAM meetings in July 2013.


Congratulations, Maryam, Persi, and Lexing!!