Kannan Soundararajan has been awarded the Ostrowski Prize. He will share the prize with
Ib Madsen (Copenhagen) and David Preiss (Warwick).

The prize is awarded by the Ostrowski Foundation every two years (the current prize is officially for 2011) to "a mathematician or group of mathematicians who have produced the best result in the field of pure mathematics or in the foundations of numerical mathematics."

Further information, including a list of previous prize winners, is available at the Ostrowski Foundation's website:


There is also a short announcement on the AMS website:

Congratulations, Sound! This is a wonderful and well-deserved honor.