Mathematics Professor Emeritus, Gunnar Carlsson, has been named a 2017 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for his contributions to algebraic topology, particularly equivariant stable homotopy theory, algebraic K-theory, and applied algebraic topology.

The Fellows of the AMS designation (started in 2012) recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished because of their contributions to the profession, and to honor excellence. This year, sixty-five mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the AMS.

AMS President Robert L. Bryant says, “It’s my pleasure to congratulate the members of the 2017 class of AMS Fellows on their outstanding accomplishments and to thank them for their contributions to mathematics and their leadership. I look forward to working with them in service to our mathematical community.”

For more information about the AMS fellowship, please go to their web site